This website was supported by ED-IES-12-C-0004, the 2012-2017 Regional Educational Laboratory Midwest.
Funding for this contract has expired and this website is no longer being maintained.
Please visit for more information about the Regional Educational Laboratory Program

Professional Development for Online Teachers: How the Current Practice Reflects Existing Standards


Wednesday, November 18, 2015              

3:00 p.m.– 4:00 p.m. CT



REL Midwest and its Virtual Education Research Alliance hosted a webinar designed to explore the teaching standards established by the Council of Chief State School Officers’ Interstate New Teacher Assessment and Support Consortium (InTASC) and the International Association for K-12 Online Learning (iNACOL).                                         

The event featured presentations by Cindy Hamblin, Ronda Eshleman and Michele Nickels, who discussed how three state-level online learning programs utilized the above standards to create teacher training programs. The event also featured a presentation by Mary Herring, a Virtual Education Research Alliance member, about how state-level professional development practices can inform the preparation of preservice teachers. This event was designed to address the U.S. Department of Education’s priority area of educator effectiveness in online education.


Please view the archived PowerPoint presentation slides



Ronda Eshleman, Principal, Indiana Online Academy

Cindy Hamblin, Director, Illinois Virtual School

Mary Herring, Associate Dean, College of Education, University of Northern Iowa

Michele Nickels, Director, Wisconsin Virtual School


Who Should Attend?

K-12 virtual education program administrators, K-12 school and district personnel who currently use online courses, K-12 school and district personnel who are considering the use of online courses, state-level administrators and policymakers, and online learning researchers.


Related Resources

Council of Chief State School Officers. (2011, April). Interstate Teacher Assessment and Support Consortium (InTASC) Model Core Teaching Standards: A Resource for State Dialogue. Washington, DC.

International Association for K-12 Online Learning. (2011, October).  iNACOL National Standards for Quality Online Teaching (v2).  Vienna, VA.

Young, P. (2011). InTASC model for teaching style. Washington, DC: Council of Chief State School Officers